Registering your Florida commercial auto requires a minimum amount of insurance coverage. To ensure your business is properly protected you should carefully consider the Florida commercial auto insurance you carry. Be sure to discuss all of the coverage available on a Florida commercial auto insurance policy with your insurance agent.
Florida commercial auto insurance minimum requirements: - Florida is a no fault state and requires you to carry Personal injury protection (PIP) of $10,000. - Property damage liability insurance of at least $10,000.
Regardless of who is at fault for an accident, we are all responsible for paying the first $10,000 of our own medical bills before we can go after the at fault party. PIP pays for this in our Florida commercial auto insurance policy: - Medical bills. PIP pays 80%. - Lost wages. PIP pays 60%. - A-lso pays a death benefit up to $5,000. - The maximum limit payable under PIP on your Florida commercial auto insurance policy is $10,000.
Property Damage Liability pays for damage you cause with your Florida commercial auto. - Pays for damage to another auto or other property.
Bodily Injury Liability - This portion of your Florida commercial auto insurance policy will pay for injuries you cause to others. - Bodily injury also pays legal expenses to defend your business in the event of a lawsuit due to these injuries. - This coverage is recommended on your Florida commercial auto insurance policy. The limit is typically high, as a business can be an easy target for a lawsuit. - If you do not carry bodily injury on your commercial auto insurance in Florida you should seriously consider adding it to the policy. Under the Florida responsibility law you are responsible for paying for the injuries you cause to the other party. You may be responsible for paying those costs out of pocket.